top of page


MAK Packs: What Do They Teach, Exactly?

We had a parent ask for the specific mindfulness principles we teach in the kids MAK Pack and thought we'd share the answer here. So here is a rundown of what's covered in the kit. You may not see these exact words in the stories and art but you will recognize the principles they reference.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask!

Lesson 1

Mindfulness- Noticing our thoughts, what our body feels like, what our ears are hearing, and anything else that is around us and happening right now. You can be mindful doing any activity, whether it’s walking, playing or doing the dishes.

Meditation- The act of remaining silent and calm, and focusing on your breath for a period of time so you are able to acknowledge without judgment everything life brings.

Mindful Breathing- There are three parts to our breath. The inhale, the space in-between, and the exhale. Mindful breathing happens when you notice all three parts. Paying attention to your breath it can help you calm down and focus.

Emotional Responsibility- Being able to recognize how your reactions affect others. To learn to take care of your feelings and know that you are the boss of your emotions and not the other way around.

Lesson 2

Entitlement - The belief that you are deserving of or entitled to certain privileges. You think you should receive special treatment.

Respond- Responding to something is more thoughtful than merely reacting. Responding is less guided by emotion and more by logic. Responding is guided less by emotion and more by logic and has positive results, especially when the response is an engaging conversation that is uplifting and civil.

React- When you react to something instead of respond, it is usually defensive. There is a downside to reacting because we let our emotions drive what we do or say. It’s easy to lose control and end up hurting ourselves and others around us.

Lesson 3

Acknowledge - When you acknowledge an emotion, you take notice of it without judgment and admit the existence or truth of it.

Grasping - This is when the mind desperately holds on to something and refuses to let it go. We grasp on to things that make us feel good.

Aversion- This is when the mind desperately keeps something away and refuses to let it come. We avert things that make us feel bad.

Non-judging- Not getting caught up in our ideas and opinions, likes and dislikes. Not automatically labeling something as good or bad.

Lesson 4

Self-compassion - Practicing self-compassion involves listening to our thoughts, inviting untrue thoughts to leave, allowing ourselves to feel every emotion, and mindfully breathing through the happy and sad. The three components of self compassion are: self-kindness, common humanity and mindfulness.

Self-kindness - A positive, proactive attitude toward oneself; treating yourself kindly; accepting yourself just as you are.

Common humanity- Remembering that feelings of inadequacy and disappointment are universal. Everyone has pain just like I have pain. This is a shared human experience.

bottom of page